Beach, Bonzai Bowls, and Baseball

My goodness was it hot this weekend! California winters are the best thing since sliced bread. We, Californians, are too spoiled for our own good. I’m sorry residents of everywhere else but you’re more than welcome to join us!
DCIM999GOPRO

Huntington Beach is known as Surf City. It hosts the US Open of Surfing, volleyball competitions, and my favorite volunteering event, Life Rolls On (and probably a bunch of other stuff you can look up yourself). This beach was one of the many I would ditch high school classes for and drive on the weekends to try and learn how to surf. I still suck at it though.

DCIM999GOPRO

There’s a tasty Acai Bowl Spot called Banzai Bowls, which you must try if you’re into eating well designed, color coordinated, healthy ice cold fruit blends. It’s a five minute skate away or a ten minute walk from the HB pier if you decide to take a break from tanning all afternoon. I ate my bowl so fast I couldn’t even take a photo of it, this happens so often except with my egg dishes, so I just painted a picture for memory’s sake.

2

I had a large (I was craving for a long time) Banzai Bowl that consisted of bananas, strawberries, kiwi, blueberries, acai berries, coconut shredding, and the one ingredient that threw me off was bee pollen. I’m still trying to figure out how that really tasted. It was bomb dot com. I highly recommend it!

Sunday’s after church shenanigans were pretty random. We headed to the batting cages at West Covina’s Field of Dreams.  I’ve watched the city develop and build this location for the past 10 years and it was my first time to step foot into the glorious field. It costs about $3.00 to get in and they give you a $1.00 credit coin that you can use at the concession area. I didn’t get to walk around too much because I was so excited to hit some baseballs! The batting cages also cost $1.00 for about 18 pitches.DCIM103GOPRO 1

Spectators anticipating their turn to destroy 75 miles per hour pitches.

DCIM104GOPRO

It was more difficult than I anticipated. I played softball when I was in high school but I haven’t hit a baseball for about 10 years. Back to the rookies for me.DCIM106GOPRO

Hope y’all had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

